Analysis  |  14 August 2014

European smart grid roll-out on target

Currently across much of the European Union programs are being implemented to install smart meters in every home and business. This, combined with power and control networks, will provide the infrastructure upon which our widely anticipated smart grids can operate, enabling a much better control of the continent’s energy demand and supply.

 

Interview  |  14 August 2014

The Bigger Oil Story Behind the Headlines: Interview with Michael Levi

By James Stafford

While we fixate on sexy headlines about Chinese military threats in the South China Sea, for instance, or Washington 'lifting the ban' on crude oil exports, we miss the bigger stories—and we miss the reality. China's relentless resource quest has the greatest impact on trading prices, which may not make for headline news, but is a very important reality, while the stories about the US lifting the crude oil ban were just wrong.

Report  |  4 August 2014

Elimination of the Baltic "Energy Island" and its Importance for Further EU Market Integration in Sector of the Electric Energy

By Leo Jansons

The Baltic States - Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, in terms of energy infrastructure are frequently referred to as an 'energy island'- the region having very few interconnection routes with the rest of the European Union (EU). As for natural gas, the three states are fully dependent on one third country supply source - the Russian Federation, and a single supply route - a pipeline natural gas transmission network linking Latvia and Estonia directly with Russia, and Lithuania with Russia via Belarus. For electric energy transmission systems, the situation is pretty much the same - they are working in a parallel synchronized regime with IPS/UPS countries within the power loop of Belarus, Russia, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania (BRELL). BRELL is an agreement signed by above mentioned parties on February 7, 2001, which regulates the operational control over the electric power systems of five the countries.

Viewpoint  |  4 August 2014

The Role of 'European formulas' in the Russia-Ukraine Gas Debate

Part two: contractual offtakes vs reverse flows, contractual law vs EU acquis

By Andrey Konoplyanik, Moscow

According to ITAR-TASS, as cited by The Moscow Times on 04 July, EU Energy Commissioner Günther Oettinger on 03 July asserted EU companies' right to sell Russian gas, which they buy from Gazprom at the delivery points within the EU, back to Ukraine. Energy companies in the EU have an “absolute right to dispose of gas bought from Gazprom at their discretion, including delivering in the reverse to the Ukraine,” Oettinger said via his spokeswoman Sabina Berger. Gazprom CEO Alexei Miller said the previous week that his company could retaliate against EU companies if they were to sell its gas back to Ukraine through large-scale reverse gas flows. “If we detect a reverse flow on gas-measuring stations in Europe, we may impose restrictions”, Miller said, ITAR-TASS reported. President Vladimir Putin supported Miller’s position on 01 July, although unlike Miller, Putin said that Ukraine was already taking gas intended for the EU. “In essence, [Ukraine] is getting our gas and they are paying one of our Western partners in Europe, who are not receiving these volumes,” Putin said. “We see everything, but are not taking any kind of action at the current moment so as not to aggravate the situation”.

Report  |  11 July 2014

"Responsibly energising a growing world" - while dashing for coal?

Take-aways from the 21st World Petroleum Congress

By Irina Mironova

Whether it is despite the latest complications in the international politics or thanks to them, Moscow was in the centre of world of energy for the past couple of months – with the grand opening of the 21st World Petroleum Congress at the Kremlin Palace taking place on June 15 being one of the highlights. What followed was a four-day event, undoubtedly the largest oil and gas industry conference of the year. The World Petroleum Congress gathers once in three years; its programme covers all aspects of the petroleum industry (including upstream and downstream sector – also for natural gas – as well as sustainable management, new technological solutions, etc.) and brings together representatives of the industry, governments, non-governmental organisations, international organisations and research institutions.

Recent posts
  • EU's energy transition: the triple challenge of sustainability, competitiveness and affordability - 3 July 2014
    On the road to the EU 2050 decarbonisation objective, regulatory unpredictability is considered to be the most important investment challenge by a number of energy professionals in the power sector, while too low prices in the power and ETS markets are perceived as the second biggest challenge. The question posed by some leading experts, is ‘do we want to live in 2035 when the politicians of 2015 dictated the terms of the CO2 regime?’
  • What Future for Russia’s Nuclear Exports Post-Ukraine? - 19 June 2014
    Recent events in Ukraine are a watershed moment for Europeans to fundamentally re-think their energy policies and reduce their dependence on one, major supplier: Russia. Re-thinking, however, is not equal to rejecting or renouncing, but perhaps more on par with revising or re-assessing, how to prevent the preventable and mitigate the probable...
  • The Role of 'European formulas' in the Russia-Ukraine Gas Debate - 19 June 2014
    The current Russia-Ukraine gas debate has been making the international media headlines though it has been discussed there mostly from political angle. Being interviewed recently in “Quest means Business” at CNN, I was asked by Richard Quest whether I “think that energy is being used as a diplomatic and political tool by Russia in this case”?
  • "... because CCS is not as sexy as renewables" - 5 June 2014
    Scientists, engineers, experts from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and politicians seem to agree: to limit the global increase in temperature to a maximum of 2°C without the introduction of a comprehensive Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) system is almost impossible...
  • Germany Embarks on Major Energy Reforms - 22 May 2014
    Germany is currently pushing through long-awaited reform of its seminal renewable energy laws, introducing measures intended to better control the so-called Energiewende without stopping it...
  • Pressure mounts to develop UK shale, as drillers jostle for acreage - 15 May 2014
    In the UK politicians are becoming excited over the prospects for shale development, anticipating lower energy prices, improved energy security, higher growth and jobs, lower emissions and increased tax revenue, with many of the early fears apparently proving unfounded. However concerns remain over lengthy and complex planning rules and public protest...
  • The Caspian: challenges in environmental and energy governance - 8 May 2014
    While EU’s dependency on Russian energy resources has been in the spotlight of the political and media debates in Europe and across the Atlantic over the last months, the ‘New Great Game’ in the Caspian seems to have gone slightly out of sight...
  • U.S. Energy Master Limited Partnerships: Worth the Hype or a Disaster in the Making? - 2 May 2014
    To increase capital to finance upstream and midstream energy sectors the United States Congress enacted the Master Limited Partnership (MLP) legislation in the 1980s. MLPs offer substantial tax advantages to the partners to encourage investments. However, the MLP structure's requirement to pay out 90% of its taxable income to unit holders, may be undercutting necessary spending on basic maintenance of energy infrastructure that they operate...
  • Break Russia's Gas Stranglehold with Energy Efficiency - 24 April 2014
    The Ukraine crisis has underscored again just how dependent much of EU Europe is on Russian gas imports – and how helpless it would be should worse ever come to worse. This is why Germany’s Chancellor Merkel recently proclaimed: “There’s going to be a review of all of our energy policies.”
  • Powerful benefits of "clean energy" - 17 April 2014
    EER’s Jozef Badida recently attended the fourth annual Euro-Mediterranean Energy Efficiency Forum in Monaco. Policy and decision makers discussed the potential of energy efficiency to support Europe’s path to sustainable economic growth. Best practices were shared and an answer was sought to the question what policies should support energy efficiency investments...

All articles published by European Energy Review are filed in our files section.

 

Recent blog posts
New Energy Publications
Files
Search Files
File:
Theme:
Country:
Author:
From:
To:
Text:
Calendar
Most read last eight weeks
  • The Role of 'European formulas' in the Russia-Ukraine Gas Debate

    By Andrey Konoplyanik, Moscow

  • The energy sector's future business models

    3 July 2014 by Tessel Renzenbrink

  • EU’s energy transition: the triple challenge of sustainability, competitiveness and affordability

    by Daria Nochevnik

    On the road to the EU 2050 decarbonisation objective, regulatory unpredictability is considered to be the most important investment challenge by a number of energy professionals in the power sector, while too low prices in the power and ETS markets are perceived as the second biggest challenge [note 1].

    The question posed by some leading experts, is ‘do we want to live in 2035 when the politicians of 2015 dictated the terms of the CO2 regime?’ [note 2]

    Electricity market Europe - source: CETRI-TIRES
    EURELECTRIC’s Annual Convention that took place in London 2-3 June could not have been timelier wedged between the European elections and the upcoming European Council in June. The title ‘Building trust in the new energy world’ speaks for itself, pointing to the necessity for re-establishing the link between the European energy policies and consumers, as well as for regulatory stability and new market tools that would provide the prerequisites for the intense investments necessary for the power sector in the coming decades.
    As the Convention is the biggest event of the year organized by the sector association that represents the European electricity industry, the messages convened by politicians, industry representatives, as well as financial and investment experts, mirror the key trends on the EU’s energy agenda.

    Pierre-Marie Abadie, Director of Energy Affairs at the French Ministry of Ecology, Energy, Sustainable Development (MEEDDAT), underlined the fundamental gap in EU’s vision of security of supply and competitiveness, which ultimately have to be linked in the 2030 policy framework for climate and energy. In anticipation of the upcoming meeting of the European Council in June, Abadie pointed to fact that cohesion in policy design will have to be addressed by the EU ministers, in particular the inextricable link between EU’s economic competitiveness and energy security that hasn’t been sufficiently articulated so far.

    EU – the ‘old guard’ in the energy revolution?

    The speed of developments in the world of energy, as well as the complexity of the sector that requires innovation, political cohesion and interoperability of systems define the uncertainty of EU’s energy present. In order to ensure competitiveness, the vector of EU’s energy strategy was called to be adjusted:

    we stand in the middle of an energy revolution
    “Here in Europe, we stand in the middle of an energy revolution. History tells that it isn’t an easy place to stand. It is not safe even for the revolutionaries, but it is certainly not safe for the ‘old guard’, and in this revolution we are the ‘old guard” [note 3].

    When addressing EU’s energy trilemma - sustainability, competitiveness and affordability – most of the experts saw the solution for a cost-effective energy transition in the market design, while critically assessing the impact of political interventions on the EU’s electricity market. However, despite the shared understanding of the key issues such as rising electricity prices, current delay in investments in the sector and the need for effective and well-functioning EU electricity market, stakeholders were pointing to different sets of solutions.
    If governmental officials have been advocating the ETS reform as the key instrument for energy transition, industry professionals and energy experts were calling for less governmental intervention, a smarter market design and predictability for investors.
    Industry’s view on the current supporting schemes is clearly uniform [note 4]:

     

    ‘This is a long-term business, while politicians have short-term objectives’

    The inherent contradiction between short-term policy objectives on the one hand, and long-term investment plans required by the capital-intensive energy industry on the other, has been highlighted by the Steve Woodhouse, the director of Pöyry Management Consulting.
    While EC is currently developing the 2030 policy framework for climate and energy, investors are compelled to look towards 2040 and beyond.
    political interventions guided by relatively short-term goals have proven to be detrimental for the sector
    As energy industry is characterized by the need for long-term investments, political interventions guided by relatively short-term goals have proven to be detrimental for the sector. The current situation with the ‘CO2 market’, which is political in its nature, compounds to the investors uncertainty, while the ETS reform decision can only be regarded as a short-term solution.
    The multi-dimensional challenge for the industry includes the demand for energy affordability on consumers’ side, coupled with the need for immense investments in innovative engineering and IT solutions to achieve the 2050 decarbonisation goal. Arguably, the financial challenges currently present the biggest concern, as ‘traditional lenders face restrictions on capital ratios’. The industry players across the whole value chain of the power sector would need to establish new ways of interacting not only with one another, but also with consumers. That, in turn, would raise a number of questions with regard to the allocation of risks, revenues, as well as control and governance issues.

    As ‘policy and regulatory risks are almost impossible to hedge, particularly for private companies….on-going political involvement should be held to a minimum’, according to the Director of Pöyry Management Consulting.

    Market design - the key tool to combine different political and investment goals in a consistent manner.

    While the current support schemes were openly characterized as ‘costly, inefficient and prone to policy risk’, a number of experts identified market design as the most effective solution to the cost-effective energy transition challenge.
    The energy bills have been used too much for the political purposes, experts would argue, and so far, integrators have demonstrated limited responsibility for optimizing the Renewable Energy Sources (RES).

    Hence, the market solution would be to enable better use of existing interconnection capacity, better integrated markets, investments in smart metering, enhanced analytics, as well as optimized, cost-effective networks. There is indeed a major strategic challenge to restore the market that has been destabilized. Smart systems are the drivers of evolution of the business models.
    In this context, capacity remuneration schemes were considered the most pressing market design issue.

    Rising electricity prices - confirmed to be driven by the RES support schemes.

    The EURELECTRIC June 2014 Report (prepared in collaboration with Accenture), presented at the Convention [note 5], concludes that electricity expenditure has been going up with over 5% across the EU annually since 2008 (from €380 billion to €398 billion). Although the volumes of electricity supply have been relatively stable since 2010, rising electricity prices were primarily responsible for the increase in EU countries’ energy expenditures.
    The analysis shows that the costs of electricity supply have been relatively stable,
    The regulatory patchwork across the EU is considered to be the driver behind the increasing costs for energy transition
    and the key driver behind the rising electricity prices have been policy decisions.
    Moreover, according to the study, electricity prices will continue to increase if the barriers to a sustainable and affordable decarbonisation pathway will not be addressed.
    The regulatory patchwork across the EU is considered to be the driver behind the increasing costs for energy transition, which can be tackled through an integrated set of levers across the electricity value chain presented in the scheme below [note 6]:

    An integrated set of levers across the electricity value chain - source: Eurelectric

    Although there was an overall consensus with regard to the detrimental effect of regulatory instability on the electricity markets, as well as the fact that policy design and market design have to be more cohesive across the EU, the political response to the challenges seems to be rather ambiguous. In anticipation of the appointment of the new European Commissioner for Energy, Tom Howes, Deputy Head of the Economic Analysis and Financial Instruments (DG ENER), was asked about the prospects of further regulatory interventions from the Commission’s side and whether new policies would be considered. The reply that ‘the new Commissioner will probably want “better policies”’ left experts wondering, whether the issue of regulatory instability will be addressed by the EU policy-initiating organisation in the near future. As the impact of regulatory interventions has been highlighted throughout the presentations and panel discussion of the conference, the lukewarm reception of this reply, perhaps mirrored the acuity of the issue for the power sector.

    Choosing priorities for EU energy policies

    In his keynote speech, current European Commissioner for Energy, Gunther Oettinger presented the recently adopted European Energy Security Strategy and emphasized that moving ‘fast to reduce our dependence on external suppliers’ should be the main priority for the energy industry in Europe. However, when answering on the question ‘What should be strategic drivers for the EU energy policy in the coming 5 years?’, the majority of the European power industry professionals clearly spoke with a single voice [note 7], which did not resonate with the one of the Commission: 

    Despite the willingness of the industry and policy-makers to move towards the 2050 target, the discrepancy in priority-setting remains to be an issue. Putting energy security at the forefront is acknowledged as a reasonable and justified strategic goal, however, how did we come to an understanding of energy security that does not incorporate competitiveness of electricity process for industry and households in itself? Whether or not the necessity of linking security of supply with economic competitiveness will become a political priority remains to be seen, when the final decision on the 2030 Framework is taken in October 2014.
    In the meantime, the Conclusions of the latest European Council that took place on 26/27 June 2014, as well as the 'Strategic Agenda in Times of Change', show that this link is clearly underestimated, when European energy security is addressed.

    Notes

    1. E-voting results, EURELECTRIC’s Annual Convention, London, 3 June
    2. Stephen Woodhouse, Director, Pöyry Management Consulting, Presentation at EURELECTRIC’s Annual Convention, London, 2 June 2013
    3. ibid.
    4. E-voting results, EURELECTRIC’s Annual Convention, London, 3 June
    5. EURELECTRIC Report prepared in collaboration with Accenture ‘Forging a joint commitment to sustainable and cost-efficient energy transition in Europe’ - available at http://www.eurelectric.org/media/132600/eurelectric-accenture_brochure-2014-030-0355-01-e.pdf
    6. ibid., p. 4
    7. E-voting results, EURELECTRIC’s Annual Convention, London, 3 June

     

  • Dividing South Stream

    19 June 2014 by Jozef Badida

  • "Responsibly energising a growing world" - while dashing for coal?

    Take-aways from the 21st World Petroleum Congress

    By Irina Mironova

Social media
Linked in banner
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on Facebook
Published By
Elektor
European Energy Review receives Award for Excellence in Written Journalism
Log in | Register | Contact
Register now
Latest news: